jump to navigation

Alcaraz wins a lottery ticket June 14, 2010

Posted by Alex Tomchak Scott in World Cup 2010.
Tags: ,
trackback

Before Antolin Alcaraz even opened his eyes, a grin spread across his face. As soon as he felt the ball leave his head, you could tell he knew the header was unstoppable, and he was just about to shower himself in glory. That’s probably just about what the World Cup is about, no? That it just means so much. I.e., “I’ve just forced the world to take notice of my tiny, unfancied, extraordinarily proud nation.”

I haven’t seen most of this half, because during the Japan-Cameroon game, the earliness of the matches caught up with me and I conked out, but I imagine that just about defined it.

You actually know a team’s a bit special when the two players the pundits are identifying as their superstars are the ones without a hope of starting (in this case Roque Santa Cruz and Oscar Cardozo). “They can’t not start one of those guys,” everybody thinks, but Gerardo Martino sees exactly how he can’t: Obviously he knows Haedo Valdez and Lucas Barrios give him something those two don’t. Probably, I would think, they tire center backs, but I’m just guessing.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

