jump to navigation

A few words on the USA game: “YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!” and also “YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!” June 23, 2010

Posted by Alex Tomchak Scott in U.S. soccer, World Cup 2010.
Tags: ,
trackback

I fell victim to a non-functioning alarm clock this morning, so I only only woke up in time to see the goal. I’m kind of jealous of the catharsis all you USA fans out there must have experienced. I know at least one USA fan, the other contributor to this blog in fact, who certainly felt that.

Here’s a text message he sent me at 7:21 a.m., right after Clint Dempsey’s goal was chalked off.

Doody!

Here’s the text of a second message he sent me at 8:38, seven minutes from time.

Bouts to cry

And here’s the text of a blog post he began soon after the game. He didn’t finish it. Who could blame him? How can you explain that emotion? I mean, probably like this:

YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

did i mention, YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

One more thing: To Algeria, it’s really too bad. Let’s just remember that Algeria is one of the truly great teams of African soccer. I hope it’s not the last we see of them at the World Cup, although I also hope they come back with some actual Algerians in the team, and don’t do it at Egypt’s expense next time.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

