jump to navigation

Michael has a rant: The inconvenient League of Champions October 23, 2013

Posted by michaeltomlinson in Champions League, European soccer.
trackback

It is 11:45 AM Pacific standard time, Arsenal vs Dortmund or Milan vs Barcelona? Maybe I’ll go a little bit further off the grid and make it Chelsea vs Shalke, but probably not. If only I was this spoiled for choice, when in reality my options are closer to 30 minutes of the Milan / Barca game or catch a glimpse of Celtic / Ajax?…. This is the life of a European soccer fan on the beautiful left coast of the United States, and it is the suck!

I should have prefaced this by saying, I’m aware I can’t change space / and time (even though it is just made up to appease our senses.) This is more of a contemptuous rant about loving Vietnamese food and living in Grand Forks North Dakota. A regular whine-fest 2013 about your total disdain for the sun’s harmful rays whilst enjoying the 7 piano bars and legions of fake breasts in Tempe, Arizona. This isn’t logical or helpful, and there is nothing I can do about it so let me just bitch for a second okay? Cool!

The European Champions league is the greatest tournament on the planet that isn’t the World Cup. That isn’t my opinion, its science and it was proven by the scientists. Unfortunately this tournament of champions happens on Tuesdays and Wednesdays throughout the year beginning mid morning to early afternoon.  I wouldn’t say I generally have much to complain about working 7:30 – 4:00 Monday through Friday, EXCEPT this. My cubicle is not a safe haven for live streaming either, I’m fairly certain I could get choked out for something like that. And even if it were a possibility, I’m almost certain the first link I click on will inevitably bring down the company’s system as I duck out quietly into the lunch hour, never to be seen again.

1967 Lisbon Lions, a far cry from today’s Celtic FC

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If I happen to catch a nice half an hour of the game at an outside location, there is a good chance it won’t even be what I want to see. Arsenal hosted Dortmund yesterday, in what was a match-up of two of the most in –form teams in the world, but it wasn’t on. Yes, thanks to the large Irish Catholic population in the States we received that hot Celtic vs Ajax action, which would have been relevant had it been 1971. Further infuriated by the fact I have no hot sauce for my burrito, everything has become dissatisfying at this point in my break, just in time to go back work.

In summary, Europe is very far away from the United States, especially Oregon AND ITS PISSIN’ ME OFF! Also why the hell is there no hot sauce for my burrito, what kind of restaurant is this? Oh right, my parent’s house, the perks of working 3 minutes from your childhood home. Time to step your game up, looking at you, European time zones and mom….

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

